7 Facts you didn’t know about the BigTen Tournament

Posted: March 9, 2015 by jmklee in Uncategorized


The BigTen Tournament kicks off Wednesday for the 18th time in conference history.  Here are some stats and facts that caught my eye while taking a look at tournaments past.  (BTW, I don’t care about vacated wins.  I saw them win and nothing changes that.  It is the dumbest punishment doled out in sports.) Anyway here is what I found.

  • Michigan St. and Ohio St. have combined to win more than half the titles.  9 or 17.
  • Ohio St. has cut down the nets 5 times.  More than any other school 2002, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013.
  • The lowest seed to win the tournament is a 6 seed.  The 2001 Iowa Hawkeyes.
  • Illinois has been runner-up more than any other school.  4 times 1999, 2000, 2004, 2008.
  • An Indiana school has only cut the nets down once.  The 2009 Purdue Boilermakers.  (insert Tom Crean joke here)
  • Teams seeded 3rd or lower has won the tournament 4 times.  1998 Michigan 4 seed, 2001 Iowa 6 seed, 2003 Purdue 3 seed, 2014 Michigan St. 3 seed.
  • Only 3 final gams have been decided by less than 5 points.
  1. hoovadeuce22 says:

    I’m saying this as an IU fan. They do not deserve to be in the tourney. You lose 8 of your last 12 games……give that spot to Murray St. They won 24 in a row (I don’t care about what conference they are in) that deserves at least a shot.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s